Designing The Characters

Within my design I will need to create nine different characters to represent an ambassador for each of the countries to sit around the table. When researching online into vector graphics of people I discovered two methods of doing so, the first is very simple of using the ‘Pen’ tool to draw out the silhouette of a character and colour it all in one colour. This method is effective as audiences are able to understand what the object is. However as my poster will be at a birds eye view this method may not work as the object would be hard to recognise and could result in confusion meaning the main aim of the poster, to communicate which country is the fattest will not be fulfilled.

Below is an image taken from ‘www.vector-magz.com’ demonstrating this method.

people-silhouettes-vector2

The design of the posters means I will create nine different characters whom are sat around a table from a birds eye view. Using the below images sourced from http://www.dreamstime.com I have designed two different character silhouettes from this angle to use within the poster.

dreams_img

I then drew out these human figures from above, all coloured in black following the first method. The result is displayed below.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 11.48.17

Whilst I feel the figures could be recognised roughly by viewers I believe the one coloured approach will make the poster look unprofessional and dull to viewers. Adding colours to different section would allow for more interest within the characters and for them to become more defined which in turn would ensure the posters main aim is met. Therefore after research I discovered a method which mean I would overlay different shapes on top of one another within Illustrator, this would make the image more defined and appear more like a photograph than a simple shape. The below image is evidence of this, sourced from Google Images.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 11.54.31

Furthermore I used this technique on the two characters I had created and reached the below outcome. I feel these vector graphics will be more successful in recognition causing no confusion to viewers of the poster. Additionally I feel the colours will be able to reflect upon the level of obesity within the colours though colour connotations. Finally meaning the poster will communicate its desired aim clearly and effectively to viewers.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 11.48.47

Leave a Reply

